Sign In with your
Trend Micro Account
Need Help?
Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.

Handling simultaneous access to shared files in SafeSync

    • Updated:
    • 2 Dec 2014
    • Product/Version:
    • SafeSync for Business 5.1
    • Platform:
    • Macintosh Lion
    • Macintosh Mavericks
    • Macintosh Mountain Lion
    • Windows 8 32-bit
    • Windows 8 64-bit
    • Windows 8 RT
Summary
Learn how SafeSync handles simultaneous access to shared files where multiple users try to edit and save a file at the same time.
Details
Public
SafeSync does not yet have any "Check Out" or "Locked for editing" feature for modifying shared files. So, there is a risk where multiple users can edit the same file at the same time. This allows users to overwrite the changes made by other users. Trend Micro plans to have the said feature in the comingproduct updates. The following allows you to know how SafeSync handles simultaneous access to shared files:
  1. The last user to save the file will overwrite the previous version. The file to be displayed will have the latest time modified while previous modifications will become versions of the file. Here are the conditions:
    • If there are multiple access session to a single file, SafeSync will check the time modified and display the file version that has the latest time modified.
    • If you will upload a file, the file with the latest time modified will be displayed while previous modifications will become versions of the file.
    • If simultaneous users upload a file to the same destination with the same filename, the file to be displayed will be based on the time modified and not the upload time.

      Example:

      User A and B edited a file at the same time. User A finished editing the file at 08:15 AM while user B finished editing at 8:30 AM. User A and B uploaded the file to the same location with the same file name, which makes the files identical. User B finished uploading the file first while user A finished uploading a few hours later. The file uploaded by user A will automatically become a version while the file uploaded by user B will become the latest file displayed. The scenario shows that "time modified" will always become the basis.

    To address simultaneous access and modifications to shared files, SafeSyc has versioning and previous versions can be viewed or restored. For more information, you can visit Creating File Versions and how it works in Trend Micro SafeSyc.
  2. SafeSync does not show any notification or warning message when a shared file is being accessed simultaneously.
Premium
Internal
Rating:
Category:
Configure
Solution Id:
1106238
Feedback
Did this article help you?

Thank you for your feedback!

To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.

If you need additional help, you may try to contact the support team. Contact Support


To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.


Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.