Sign In with your
Trend Micro Account
Need Help?
Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.

Notification username and logon username are different during malware detection in OfficeScan (OSCE)

    • Updated:
    • 17 Oct 2016
    • Product/Version:
    • OfficeScan 10.6
    • OfficeScan 11.0
    • OfficeScan XG.All
    • Platform:
    • N/A N/A
    • Windows 10
    • Windows 10 32-bit
    • Windows 10 64-bit
    • Windows 2000 Advanced Server
    • Windows 2000 Professional
    • Windows 2000 Server
    • Windows 2003 Datacenter 64-bit
    • Windows 2003 Enterprise
    • Windows 2003 Enterprise 64-bit
    • Windows 2003 Server R2
    • Windows 2003 Standard
    • Windows 2003 Standard 64-bit
    • Windows 2008 32-Bit
    • Windows 2008 64-Bit
    • Windows 2008 Datacenter
    • Windows 2008 Datacenter 64-bit
    • Windows 2008 Enterprise
    • Windows 2008 Enterprise 64-bit
    • Windows 2008 Server Core
    • Windows 2008 Server R2 Enterprise
    • Windows 2008 Standard
    • Windows 2008 Standard 64-bit
    • Windows 2008 Web Server Edition
    • Windows 2008 Web Server Edition 64-bit
    • Windows 2012 Datacenter R2
    • Windows 2012 Enterprise
    • Windows 2012 Enterprise R2
    • Windows 2012 Server Essential R2
    • Windows 2012 Server Essentials
    • Windows 2012 Standard
    • Windows 2012 Standard R2
    • Windows 2012 Web Server Edition
    • Windows 7 32-Bit
    • Windows 7 64-Bit
    • Windows 8 32-Bit
    • Windows 8 64-Bit
    • Windows 8.1 32-Bit
    • Windows 8.1 64-Bit
    • Windows Vista 32-bit
    • Windows Vista 64-bit
    • Windows XP Home
    • Windows XP Professional
    • Windows XP Professional 64-bit
Summary

This article explains why the notification username and logon username are not the same during malware detection in OSCE.

Details
Public

When the system starts up, ntrtscan.exe starts before PccNTMon.exe and gets the username from the OSCE registry. The username in the OSCE registry is that of the previous user who logged onto the PC.

When PccNTMon.exe starts, it writes the current logon user’s name to the OSCE registry. The virus is detected before PccNTMon.exe starts, so the notification shows the user name of the previous user, not the current user.

Thus, the discrepancy.

Premium
Internal
Rating:
Category:
Configure
Solution Id:
1115189
Feedback
Did this article help you?

Thank you for your feedback!

To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.

If you need additional help, you may try to contact the support team. Contact Support


To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.


Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.