The TSC report under …\report and the database in …\SpntLog are consuming too much disk space. SPNT's delete/purge task cannot remove the files under those directories.
There is a large amount of .dbf files because the Normal Server (NS) backs up the log db file successfully, but it fails to delete the records physically, so it keeps the size over 10M. When an infection/event log is produced, a SpntLog.dbf file is created.
This could be a defect in current ServerProtect versions.
SEG developed a tool based on the vsapi deploy tool and tmpatch. The tool will keep the current SpntLog.dbf and SpntLog.cdx while deleting other dbf files. As for the .../report folder, it will keep the log generated at that day while other previous logs will be removed.
The cleaning work is done by SPNT_log_clean_up_tool.exe. You can run SPNT_log_clean_up_tool.exe under folder "data" separately to clean related logs on a local machine.
How SPNT_log_clean_up_tool.exe works:
The tool will first check the NS status, if the NS exist on that machine, it will stop NS services (if started), and clean up files under .../SpntLog (leaving the latest SpntLog.dbf and SpntLog.cdx) and .../report (leaving the latest log file based on the date the tool is used). After the clean up, the NS services will restart.
To use the tool:
- Download & unzip the remote_deploytool.zip file. Password: "novirus".
- Run setup.exe and the License Agreement page will appear. Select I accept the terms of the license agreement and click Agree.
- The Select Target Computers window will appear. You may either highlight the computer/s from the left window or manually type the host name under Add computer and click Add. The hostnames added will appear at the right pane. Click Next when you're done adding hostnames.
- The Remote Install Logon page will appear. Enter the username and password of the account that has access to the target machine and click Log on.
- The Target Computer Analysis window will appear. This will determine the operating system of the machine and verify if the account used in the remote install logon page has the correct privilege on the target machine. Click Next.
- The installation status will appear. Wait for the status to indicate that the cleanup has finished. It will also provide a summary of the successful or unsuccessful cleanup. Click Next.
- The summary window will appear. Click Finish.