Sign In with your
Trend Micro Account
Need Help?
Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.

Security Agent (SA) still appears in the server console after uninstalling it in Worry-Free Business Security (WFBS)

    • Updated:
    • 28 Feb 2014
    • Product/Version:
    • Worry-Free Business Security Standard/Advanced 8.0
    • Worry-Free Business Security Standard/Advanced 9.0
    • Platform:
    • Windows 2003 Enterprise
    • Windows 2003 Server R2
    • Windows 2003 Small Business Server
    • Windows 2003 Small Business Server R2
    • Windows 2003 Standard
    • Windows 2008 Enterprise
    • Windows 2008 Essential Business Server
    • Windows 2008 Server R2
    • Windows 2008 Small Business Server
    • Windows 2008 Standard
    • Windows 2011 Small Business Server Essentials
    • Windows 2011 Small Business Server Standard
    • Windows 2012 Enterprise
    • Windows 2012 Server Essentials
    • Windows 2012 Web Server Edition
    • Windows 7 32-bit
    • Windows 7 64-bit
    • Windows 8 32-bit
    • Windows 8 64-bit
    • Windows Vista 32-bit
    • Windows Vista 64-bit
    • Windows XP Home
    • Windows XP Professional
    • Windows XP Tablet PC
Summary
After removing the SA and reverting the virtual machine to a no antivirus state, the SA is still present in the management console.
This issue happens in the following scenarios:
  • WFBS 6.0 was upgraded to WFBS 8.0/9.0
  • Deploying the SA to another machine
  • Reverting the Virtual Machine (VM) to the state where no agent was installed
  • Agent deployed from Scenario 3 still appears in the console.
  • If the agent was reinstalled, two agents appear in two different GUIDs in the console
Details
Public
The issue is an expected behavior because: 
  • The VM is reverted, so the agent did not have a chance to unregister its record. Therefore, the WFBS server will keep the agent's record. If the record does not show an Online status within 30 days, the record will be removed from the database.
  • When you reinstall the client after reverting the VM, it will report back to the server.
  • Since the GUID is different, the server side would display two records.
Premium
Internal
Rating:
Category:
Troubleshoot
Solution Id:
1095729
Feedback
Did this article help you?

Thank you for your feedback!

To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.

If you need additional help, you may try to contact the support team. Contact Support


To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.


Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.