Sign In with your
Trend Micro Account
Need Help?
Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.

Converting Full Disk Encryption (FDE) from Unmanaged to Managed mode

    • Updated:
    • 1 Apr 2014
    • Product/Version:
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.0 Full Disk Encrypti
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.1 Full Disk Encrypti
    • Endpoint Encryption 5.0
    • Platform:
    • Windows 7 32-bit
    • Windows 7 64-bit
    • Windows 8 32-bit
    • Windows 8 64-bit
    • Windows XP Professional
Summary
Convert FDE from Unmanaged to Managed mode without decrypting, uninstalling and reinstalling the program.
Details
Public
FDE is initially installed in a target computer in an unmanaged mode either software or hardware-encrypted.
To convert:
Important: Changing the installed FDE from Unmanaged to Manage mode is not reversible. If you want to change from Managed to Unmanaged mode, the computer with FDE should be decrypted, uninstalled, and then reinstalled as Unmanaged Mode.
  1. Log in to the FDE console with administrator rights/privileges.
  2. Open the Recovery Console by doing any of the following:
    • From the Preboot window, check the Recovery Console option on the lower left-hand area of the window.
    • From Windows desktop, go to %Program Files%\Trend Micro\Full Disk Encryption and open RecoveryConsole.exe.
  3. Go to Network Setup > Policy Server.
  4. Click the Change Enterprise button, and then click Yes when prompted.
  5. Enter the following information:
    New Server User: (Name of the group administrator where the device will a member of)
    New User Password: (Password of the group administrator)
    New Server Address:  (Hostname or FQDN of the server where the PolicyServer is hosted)
    New Enterprise: (Enterprise Name when authenticating to the PolicyServer)
  6. Click Save. You will receive the following message:
    You have successfully changed enterprises. Please use your new enterprise credentials from now on.
  7. Click the Exit option to close the Recovery Console.
  8. If the update is made on the Recovery Console in Windows, restart the computer to apply the Managed Mode settings.
Premium
Internal
Rating:
Category:
Configure
Solution Id:
1098451
Feedback
Did this article help you?

Thank you for your feedback!

To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.

If you need additional help, you may try to contact the support team. Contact Support


To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.


Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.