Sign In with your
Trend Micro Account
Need Help?
Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.

Automatic device grouping during installation of Endpoint Encryption

    • Updated:
    • 20 Apr 2016
    • Product/Version:
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.0 DriveArmor
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.0 File Encryption
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.0 Full Disk Encrypti
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.0 KeyArmor
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.0 PolicyServer
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.1 Full Disk Encrypti
    • Endpoint Encryption 3.1 PolicyServer
    • Endpoint Encryption 5.0
    • Platform:
    • Windows 10 32-bit
    • Windows 10 64-bit
    • Windows 7 32-bit
    • Windows 7 64-bit
    • Windows 8 32-bit
    • Windows 8 64-bit
    • Windows 8.1 32-bit
    • Windows 8.1 64-bit
    • Windows Embedded POSReady 7 (32-bit/64-bit)
    • Windows Vista SP1 32-bit / 64-bit
    • Windows XP SP3 32-bit
Summary

You want to know how devices are grouped after installing Endpoint Encryption agents.

Details
Public

The group where devices will belong to after installation of Endpoint Encryption agents is determined by the User you used to install. By default, all Administrators and Authenticators have agent installation privileges (Allow Install=Yes). However, regular Users can also be modified to have agent installation privileges.

Enterprise Administrators and Enterprise Authenticators cannot be added to any other group. They are also the only ones who has agent installation privileges on the Enterprise Group. Other users (including Group Administrators and Group Authenticators) can belong to any number of groups.

User used during agent installGroup where device will belong to after agent install
Enterprise AdministratorEnterprise Group
Enterprise AuthenticatorEnterprise Group
Group AdministratorUser’s Default Group
Group AuthenticatorUser’s Default Group
UserUser’s Default Group

To find out the User’s Default Group, right-click on the Username and click List Groups.

The first group listed is the User’s Default Group. If this user was used to install the agent, this will be where the device will belong to after install.

default user group

Click image to enlarge.

To change the User’s Default Group, right-clicking on the default group then select Move to Top.

The User’s Default Group is also responsible for Policies concerning Users.

Premium
Internal
Rating:
Category:
Configure; Install
Solution Id:
1114003
Feedback
Did this article help you?

Thank you for your feedback!

To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.

If you need additional help, you may try to contact the support team. Contact Support


To help us improve the quality of this article, please leave your email here so we can clarify further your feedback, if neccessary:
We will not send you spam or share your email address.

*This form is automated system. General questions, technical, sales, and product-related issues submitted through this form will not be answered.


Need More Help?

Create a technical support case if you need further support.